Skip to navigation

Unsubscribing a subscriber from a list in an automation

Drag the ‘Unsubscribe’ action to the point in your automation where you want to unsubscribe the subscriber. In the block, select which list the subscriber will be unsubscribed from: the current list or another one. If you select another list, this will only take effect if the subscriber is also on that list.

With this action, you unsubscribe the subscriber as a step in the automation. This is different from a subscriber unsubscribing themselves via the unsubscribe link in a newsletter. You can read about the difference between unsubscribing, removing and cleaning in Unsubscribing subscribers from your list.

After being unsubscribed, the subscriber will appear on the Unsubscribed tab in that list, and you will no longer be able to send newsletters to that address from that list.

As soon as a subscriber is unsubscribed from the list the automation is running on, the automation stops for that person. Any remaining steps in the flow will no longer be executed. If you unsubscribe the subscriber from another list, the automation will simply continue to run.