Saving the default formatting of a block
A new block that you drag into your newsletter always has the basic design. For example, if you set the font, the foreground and background colour, and the rounded corners for the ‘Button’ block, the next button you place will be plain again. You can save your adjustments as the default, so you only need to set the formatting once. This is possible for all types of blocks.
Saving the design as default
Give the block the design you want
Click on the block, open the ‘Design’ tab, and set the desired formatting.
You can repeat this at any time. For example, if you change the colour of the button later on and want to use that new formatting for subsequent buttons, simply click on ‘Make this design the default for this type of block’ again.
Saving the default design for future campaigns
The default only applies within the campaign or template you are currently working on, not automatically to everything you create afterwards. If you also want to use the formatting in future campaigns, save your formatted newsletter via ‘Save as template’. Every campaign you start from that template will begin with the same default design.
Restoring the basic design
In the same section, click on ‘Restore the basic default design for this block’ to reset the default to the editor’s basic design. The next block you place will then have the basic design again. This only applies to blocks you place afterwards. Blocks that are already in your newsletter will not change.
Difference with copying the design
Just above this option, you will find the checkbox ‘Copy the design of this block to all other blocks of this type’. Copying affects the blocks that are already in your newsletter, whereas the default formatting applies to the blocks you place afterwards. If you want both, tick the box and make the design the default.
You can read more about copying your formatting to existing blocks in Copying the formatting of a block.
