Skip to navigation

Resending a campaign to non-openers

Would you like to resend a newsletter you have already sent, but only to the subscribers who have not opened it? Under ‘Results’, you will find plenty of statistics about your campaign, though not who has not opened your newsletter. However, you can select that group using a segment.

If you want to create a new newsletter with the same layout, you can copy the campaign. If you want to send the campaign to subscribers who were added to your list after the time of delivery, use resending, either manually or automatically via an automation.

If tracking option 1 (no tracking, maximum privacy) or 2 (tracking enabled, no personal results) applies to your account, you cannot segment based on opens. You can still copy the campaign and resend it on the ‘Campaigns’ tab. You can read about the available options under Tracking and reporting.

Creating a segment for non-openers

You create the segment in the list to which you sent the campaign:

1

Open the segment overview of your list

Go to ‘Subscribers’, click ‘View’ for the relevant list, and select the ‘Segment’ tab. Click ‘Create new segment’.

2

Choose a criterion under Opened

Segment based on campaign results. In the dropdown list under ‘Opened’, choose a criterion: option b.2 selects all subscribers who have received your last campaign but have not opened it. Option b.1 selects all subscribers who have never opened a campaign sent to them.

Dropdown list with segment criteria, with criterion b.2 for have received but not opened the last campaign selected under Opened
3

Name the segment and save it

Give the segment a name, for example: Last campaign not opened, and save it. Then, in the overview of segments, click ‘View’ to see the subscribers included in it.

You can find all available criteria and their meanings in Segmenting based on campaign results.

Resending the newsletter

Go to ‘Campaigns’ and copy the last campaign. Go through the steps and, in step 2, select the segment you just created as the recipient.

The segment always applies to the most recently sent campaign. You can therefore simply select this segment again for a future newsletter.

Why some recipients in this segment have already seen your newsletter

Laposta only registers that a newsletter has been opened if the images have been loaded. Because some email clients do not display images automatically, some of the recipients in your segment will have already seen the newsletter. You can read more about this under the term Open rate.